The War Against Bahia Grass

Changed the blades on my mower this morning. I’ve got a Toro Titan Z5200 zero-turn mower, and it’s the neatest thing since sliced bread was invented. I now mow two acres in less than 1 1/2 hours, which used to take me 3-4 hours with my old Swisher. I use Gator blades, which have a pretty vicious set of blades cut into the airfoil that creates suction; they’re pretty effective. I sure got my money’s worth out of the old blades. When I got the new ones, I realized that I had not remembered that the blades are supposed to be square on the ends. You couldn’t tell it by looking at the old ones. I believe I had probably lost 2/3 of the metal in the outer six inches of each blade, and the blades were probably 1/2“ shorter than they were supposed to be.

No wonder I was having trouble getting a good cut. I’m actually looking forward to cutting the grass next time!

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Gripes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

