Sarah Palin’s Alaska

I watched Sarah Palin’s Alaska the other night, along with a whole bunch of other people, which made it TLC’s number 1 launch event ever.

It was a good show, and fun to watch. It was not overtly political, but I think it was a good move for Sarah Palin because it provides greater perspective on just who Sarah Palin is, how she and her family live, and how they think.

You know what I mean: all the things we still don’t really know about Obama, the Decepticon, who, as has become increasingly clear, carefully concealed his true beliefs, associations and background, during the 2008 election cycle. The electorate bought a pig-in-a-poke in 2008, and now we’re paying for it.

Plus, Alaska looks like a really nifty place to go on vacation sometime, if we ever have the money. Texas Grandma assures me that she would like to go back, sometime. The show was a success on it’s own merits – it was not a boring documentary, and it was fun to watch. I particularly enjoyed the part about the bears in the water near the boat. Unlike what many city folk would have done, nobody panicked just because there were bears 40 or 50 feet away; but they did exercise a common sense amount of caution when the bears moved closer to the boat. A realistic assessment of risk that you don’t often see on TV.

I don’t know if Sarah Palin is going to run for President, now or later; but if she ever does, I will vote for her because we share most of our core values. But more, I would vote for her unreservedly because I think I know what I’m getting. She and her family are wholesome, down-to-earth people, who have done well for themselves through hard work (capitalism), and who put family first.

And that really drives the progressives and liberals nuts. I can’t really see why, because the Palin family strike me as really nice people, but it does. For reasons I really can’t fathom, the progressives and liberals hate Sarah Palin – apparently, for being good people!

Oddly enough, that reassures me that I’m on the right side.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

