Birthdays

My birthday is in the next few days, and my family gave me a semi-surprise party last night. Although no such thing is necessary, this was a very nice thing to do, and I appreciate the well wishes and the fact that my friends and family care enough to do this.

See, to the best of my knowledge, neither of my parents ever celebrated their birthdays. Consequently, when Texas Grandma and I got married long ago, it came as some surprise to me that we kept doing the birthday party thing. I still feel a bit embarrassed that anybody would throw a party for me.

So I very much appreciate the care shown by my family; Texas Grandma for the planning and execution of the party, Texas Daughter (that means you, D) for making the cake, the gifts which are appreciated but not necessary, and my friends and family who came to the party just to show they care. And the Texas Grandkids, too, who bring such joy, and are always the main entertainment at our gatherings. Texas-NY Son called and talked to most of us, and that was very good, too – that made it complete.

I am not a wealthy man, but I am rich beyond Midas, in my family and friends. God bless you every one.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events, Grandkids, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthdays

  1. Ali says:

    And see, I come from a family where we celebrate birthdays for the entire week!

    I hereby declare the next seven days the “Popgun Celebratory Period.”

    Happy birthday from New York! Dinner will have to be something appropriately Texas-y in your honor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

