Getting Braced

We’re getting braced for the holidays, here in East Texas.

Yesterday we took another run at getting our Christmas lights working right; I replaced several strings of lights; drove to town to get some more, and one of the new ones was D.O.A.. We have the roof outlined with non-blinking colored lights, except there is this one string along the edge that does blink – sometimes. We have no idea why, and I’m not climbing up there to try to figure it out. It’s not much above freezing out there, and winds are gusting to 25 or 30 miles per hour. Beautiful day, to look out the window, but not so much fun to be out in it.

Last night, the Silver Horde (my name for our group) met for a Christmas party. The Silver Horde is borrowed from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld; in our case, it is three couples, all over 50 years old, who are all great friends; we do Bible studies and other things together. A good time was had by all, with supper and fellowship.

Today, Texas Grandma and I are having another fudge day. The Evil Dog is hiding in the bathroom because he doesn’t like the sound of chopping nuts. Texas Grandma and I have both already had a dose of Aleve. I’ve been outside to pick up some deadfall and put it on the burn pile, which included some axe work; but I didn’t stay out long on account of the cold.

I anticipate a busy week, as I try to get my job in shape for my absence; I’ll be taking a couple of weeks off starting next Friday. That’s going to be great, but this week is going to be a zoo.

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas ahead of the event. And I’ll surely be blogging again soon.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

