An Encounter With the Law

An encounter with the law as relayed by my son, in an email a day or so ago:

Good Morning Dad,

I wanted to pass along an interesting experience I had this morning.

I got pulled over for speeding on Cotton St. this morning. A city trash truck cut me off and I shot around him just in time to meet a cop coming the other way. He turned on his lights and turned around and I went ahead and pulled over. He came up to my window and asked if I knew why he pulled me over. I said “I sure do, I was speeding, I have no excuse” at which time he told me he got me doing 47 in a 30 and asked me why. I told him about the truck and that I was just a little pissed was all. He asked to see my license and I told him “I sure will, but first I need to let you know I’m a CHL holder and I have a pistol on my right hip”. At this point I braced my self for him to ask me to step out. What he did was smile at me and say “O.k.” I kind of sat there for a second, not really knowing what to do and then I said “My wallet is on my right hip too.” Again, he smiled, shook his head and said “O.k.” So I pulled my wallet out, got out my licenses and handed them to him. He looked them over and said “So, what do you carry?” I told him a .45. He said, “I mean, what kind?” I told him a Springfield and he said “Good, you’re not carrying around junk.” He then asked me why I carry and I told him personal protection. He looked over my insurance and licenses again, handed them back and asked me if I thought I could keep my temper under control from now on. I told him absolutely and he said be safe and have a nice day at which time I thanked him and drove off.

He never even went back to his car. He didn’t write me a warning, he just stood there and talked to me like he knew me. I don’t know if it was because I tried very hard to be respectful (including killing the engine and rolling down the window before he even got out), or if it was because I was carrying, but this particular experience didn’t go at all like I had envisioned it. This was the first time I’ve been stopped while actually carrying on my person. The previous time, it was in between the seats and the officer asked me to get out before we got to the part about the license.

All in all, a non stressful event that could have really ruined my day.

End quote.

I had a similar experience about four years ago. It seems to me that police officers surely have varying opinions about civilians carrying guns, but in two encounters, the police have been overwhelmingly in favor of it. In this area, at least. I’ve made it a point to ask about it the two times I’ve encountered a police officer in “unofficial” settings as well, and so far every one of them has been strongly in favor of legal concealed carry.

This is probably because the police are aware of the background check requirements for a CHL. If you’ve got a CHL, statistically you are about seven times less likely to commit a violent crime than the average citizen. But to be fair, a lot of the police around here also like guns, and understand the reality that guns in themselves are not evil; and they are aware that the violent crime rate has gone down, in every single place concealed carry laws have been enacted. The police generally like this because it makes their jobs easier, and makes them safer.

– Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events, Guns and Self Defense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

