Ailing, a Bit

For the first time in my life, I’m beginning to think that I may actually be getting a little old. I’m in my late 50’s.

Two Sundays ago, I moved too quickly, and did something to my hip. Now, in the past I have had problems with pulled muscles in my back. This usually involves taking it easy for a few days and taking my favorite NSAID until the muscles relax, and everything gets back to normal. Not usually a big deal.

Not this time.

I walked crooked for a week, unable to straighten up, until I finally gave up and, at the urging of my family, bless them, I went to see the doctor. The doctor sent me to a physical therapist to unkink me. (By the way, things you don’t want to hear the doctor say: “Wow, will you look at that!”).

So, now I’m making a couple of visits a week to the physical therapist. This is a new experience for me. And I am slowly getting better. Although I never thought I’d be paying somebody to hurt me.

So now I’m wondering if this is some sort of turning point in my life. I guess everybody reaches a point where they just don’t bounce back like they used to. I think maybe I’m there.

Not that I’m giving up, or anything like that. I still have quite a lot to do, in my life. I reckon I just can’t do it as fast.

By gum, they may get me on one of those little scooters one of these days, but mine will be a Honda!

I found a tactical cane on the internet the other day…

Ha!

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events, Humor, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

