Recommended Reading!

If you enjoy extremely well-written urban fantasy, with interesting and well-developed characters; if you like werwolves, vampires, the fey, mystery, and lots of action – you owe it to yourself to check out the excellent books of Patricia Briggs.

Several years ago, I had read the first two books in her Mercy Thompson series, “Moon Called” and “Blood Bound”, and enjoyed them very much. At that time, those were all the books available in the series, and I went on to other things. Then a couple of weeks ago, I stumbled across a new Mercy Thompson novel. So I checked into it, and I happily discovered a number of new books in the series. Plus, a whole new series set in the same universe, called the Alpha and Omega series!

I enjoyed these books so much, and came to love the characters so much, that I have, well, devoured them on my iPad:

In the Mercy Thompson series:
Moon Called
Blood Bound
Iron Kissed
Bone Crossed
Silver Borne
River Marked

In the related Alpha and Omega series:
Cry Wolf
Hunting Ground
Fair Game

These are the books I’ve read in the last 17 days. Since I had already read the first two, I started with Iron Kissed, read all the rest in both series, and then started over again, re-reading the first two. Doggone it, I’ve caught up with Patricia Briggs again, at least on these two series. However, I see that she has written a number of other books, so I’ll have to check some of them out, next. Probably the Hurog series next, so I can figure out why she named her website thus.

I’m not going into a description of the actual stories here – you can find a general description of her books on her web site, Hurog (www.hurog.com) and on her books page.

Excellence is where you find it. These are excellent!

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Current Events, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

